I’m a Writer

I am a writer. I write. I put words down on paper. Words that bring tears, rile me up, calm me down. Words that make me laugh even if no one else gets the joke. Words that make order out of the chaos that is in my brain.

If that is the definition of a writer what else am I? What else are you?

Music has been a big part of my life. I’ve let a good part of it slip away. I use to play either guitar, violin or piano every day. Singing was part of the daily schedule. A few weeks ago my granddaughter said to me at bedtime, “Let’s sing one of the beautiful songs. We don’t sing them anymore.” And in a flash I remembered the habit I had let slip away. Every night we would sing together. An old favorite, a new one, a silly made up song. It was part of our bedtime ritual. Why did we stop being musicians? …Because I believe musicians make music just like writers write.

So today the guitar will come out. I’ll dig out the music books. I’ll tune my Dad’s violin. But more importantly I’ll sing with my granddaughter a beautiful song.

Praise the Lord! For it is good to sing praises to our God; For it is pleasant and praise is becoming – Psalm 147:1 NASB

Words for thought – If writers write – musicians make music – photographers take pictures – artists create…what do Christians do?

 

 

6 thoughts on “I’m a Writer

    • Glad it made you think. Simply love is one of the best answers. We tend to want a list, like the Pharisees. I’ve been enjoying watching your newest projects.

      Like

Leave a Reply

