Remembering How to Pray – 2

I struggle to pray.  Oh, I know how.  I do it regularly, but I struggle.  It doesn’t come easily.  It is work.  I have always enjoyed talking face to face with someone.  I’m not one for big groups.  Prayer should be easier for me.  It isn’t.  I want to see this God.  I want to look Him in the face.  Lately I have been praying that God would help me to pray better.  That it would be easier to pray.

I can remember when I was five.  I can remember telling my mom I didn’t want to get any older.  I think I knew life was about as perfect as it gets.  When you are five your connection with God is so strong and true. Praying was easy. It was all very clear to me then.  I prayed believing that my Father heard me. How does it get so muddled?  Why do we complicate it so?

Enter, my granddaughter Arianna, age five.  When she sees me praying she comes over and joins me.  She wants to be included.  Some of her prayers are so real and matter of fact.

“God I want to go to your house today. Do you have happy meals up there?…God, can you send some rain so the grass seed we planted will grow?…God, bring us safely to your house…. God, I miss you so much can you please come today?… God, thank you for this peanut butter and jelly sandwich and the milk….God, it’s so sad that Jesus had to die…. God, thank you that Nana’s mom and dad are there with you….God, I don’t want to be a sinner anymore. I want to be your little girl…. God, help the baby raccoon’s mama find him…. God thank you for making the stars for me…. God help me not to have scary dreams. I want to dream about you tonight…. God, help Anna to feel better ’cause her throat is very very sore…. Jesus, do you have a kid’s table in your house?… Jesus, I thought the lights would be off forever today.  Thank you for fixing them…. And thank you for digitars (guitars).”

Lately she will stop me in the middle of the day and say.  I want to pray.  Can we pray right now?  And we do.  I stop whatever it is and pray with her.  She just has some things she wants to tell her Father.  Her simple faith takes my breath away.

So I am finding it easier to pray these days.  God has sent me a five year old to show me how.

“Truly I say to you, unless you are converted and become like children, you shall not enter the kingdom of heaven.  Whoever then humbles himself as this child, he is the greatest in the kingdom of heaven.” (Matt. 18:3-4 NASB)

 

2 thoughts on “Remembering How to Pray – 2

Leave a Reply

