My Response

(Part 6 of 7)

So what is my response to this grand redemption?  A choice must be made.  There is no middle ground.  There is a side to choose.  Will it be the God who created and loves me still, or the fallen angel who woos me away from God because of his own bitter hatred and seething anger?

If you’ve been with me the last six days you have enough information to make a decision.  Jesus words are pretty straightforward.

“The time is fulfilled, and the kingdom of God is at hand; repent and believe in the gospel.” (Mark 1:15 NASB)

I’ll give you some definitions if that will help.

Repent:  to change one’s mind for better, to amend with abhorrence of one’s past sins.

Believe:  to think to be true, to be persuaded of, to credit, place confidence in.  saving faith.

Gospel:  good tidings of salvation through Christ.

I need to simply repent and believe.  To repent and turn away from my self-serving ways to serve a good God.  To believe that I’m the sinner Christ died for and rose for.  That He has made this salvation available to me so I no longer face an eternity separated from God.  The following verses from Romans sum it all up.

“that if you confess with your mouth Jesus as Lord, and believe in your heart that God raised Him from the dead, you will be saved; for with the heart a person believes, resulting in righteousness, and with the mouth he confesses, resulting in salvation.” (Romans 10:9-10 NASB)

Just so there is no confusion, repentance is involved, but we in no way earn our way to heaven.  It is all of God and none of me.  Ephesians should clear up any misunderstanding.

“For by grace you have been saved through faith; and that not of yourselves, it is the gift of God; not as a result of works, that no one should boast.  For we are His workmanship, created in Christ Jesus for good works, which God prepared beforehand, that we should walk in them.”  (Ephesians 2:8-10 NASB)

The good works are a result of my salvation.  My salvation is not a result of my good works.

There is no more to say.  God’s words are more powerful than mine, so I leave you with two more short passages.

“I call heaven and earth to witness against you today, that I have set before you life and death, the blessing and the curse.  So choose life in order that you may live, you and your descendants, by loving the Lord, your God, by obeying His voice, and by holding fast to Him; for this is your life and the length of your days,”  (Deuteronomy 30:19-20a)

“we beg you on behalf of Christ, be reconciled to God.”  (II Corinthians 5:20b NASB)

I beg you to choose life today.  Please, don’t put it off.

For further study see Acts 17:30; John 5:24; John 3:36; II Corinthians 6:2b

3 thoughts on “My Response

  1. Pingback: An Unpopular Message | Lytroo Retreat

Leave a Reply

