My Rebellion

 

(Part 4 of 7)

So far we’ve learned about the good God who created a perfect world.  Satan’s rebellion started an all-out war.  Finally we learned about Satan tempting Eve to rebel against the good God who made her.  Adam chose to join her in that rebellion.

But what does that have to do with us?  Isn’t that all ancient history?  Sadly, God’s war with Satan continues to this day.  Man’s rebellion against God is also alive and well.  My rebellion is alive and well.  I have inherited my first father’s sin sickness.  It is more than a sickness.  It is a cancer that leads to death.  It will eventually destroy me.

“Just as sin entered the world through one man, and death resulted from sin, therefore everyone dies, because everyone has sinned.” (Romans 5:12 ISV)

The proof of my sickness is in how I fail to respond to the God who made me.  I turn my back on God.  I live for me and me alone.  My hopes and dreams are centered on me.

– How to get ahead,

– How to be happy,

– How to be successful,

– How to be rich.

My focus is self.  Oh, there are moments of brightness, but they are small when compared to the bulk of my concentration.  I have become my own god.

The first and greatest commandment is not followed by any of us.

“And you shall love the Lord your God with all your heart, and with all your soul, and with all your mind, and with all your strength.” (Mark 12:30 NASB) 

I might try, but I fail miserably again and again.

We are hopeless creatures without the ability to save ourselves.  It is crucial that you see your need before we turn to the solution.  A drowning man who doesn’t know he is drowning can’t be saved.  A man sleeping in a snowbank won’t walk to safety if he doesn’t realize he is slowly freezing to death.  A man with cancer needs to believe the doctor’s diagnosis or he will never submit to life-saving treatment.

My father use to tell a story about when he was working in a grain elevator.  One night he looked down where the grain would soon be pouring in.  He saw two mice.  Wanting to rescue them from being buried alive he searched for and found a rope.  He threw it down.  One of the mice scurried up the rope to safety.  The other mouse ran away in fear.  He didn’t believe he was in danger.

Scripture tells us that we are all lost and hopeless creatures.  The best of our efforts are like filthy garments.

“The Lord has looked down from heaven upon the sons of men, to see if there are any who understand, who seek after God.  They have all turned aside; together they have become corrupt; There is no one who does good, not even one.” (Psalm 14:2-3 NASB)

“For all of us have become like one who is unclean, and all our righteous deeds are like a filthy garment; and all of us wither like a leaf, and our iniquities, like the wind, take us away.” (Isaiah 64:6 NASB)

Realize your danger.  Understand your lost condition.  Tomorrow we will look at God’s solution.

For further study see Romans 1:18-28; Romans 3:10-18, 23; Proverbs 16:5; Isaiah 64:6-7

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “My Rebellion

  1. Pingback: An Unpopular Message | Lytroo Retreat

Leave a Reply

