Awake, My Soul

The last three weeks have been beyond challenging.  This song brought me great comfort.  I pray it does the same for you.

(For those who would like to hear the tune, I’ve included a clip below.)

Awake, My Soul, in Joyful Lays – by Samuel Medley

Awake, my soul, in joyful lays, And sing thy great Redeemer’s praise;

He justly claims a song from me, His lovingkindness, oh, how free!

Lovingkindness, lovingkindness, His lovingkindness, oh, how free!

He saw me ruined by the fall, Yet loved me not with-standing all;

He saved me from my lost estate, His lovingkindness, oh, how great!

Lovingkindness, lovingkindness, His lovingkindness, oh, how great!

Tho’ num’rous hosts of might foes, Tho’ earth and hell my way oppose,

He safely leads my soul along; His lovingkindness, oh, how strong!

Lovingkindness, lovingkindness, His lovingkindness, oh, how strong!

When trouble, like a gloomy cloud, Has gathered thick and thundered loud,

He near my soul has always stood, His lovingkindness, oh, how good!

Lovingkindness, lovingkindness, His lovingkindness, oh, how good!

Soon shall we mount and soar away to the bright realms of endless day,

And sing with rapture and surprise, His lovingkindness, in the skies.

Lovingkindness, lovingkindness, His lovingkindness, in the skies.

Leave a Reply

