When God is Unkind

Joseph, who was from a dysfunctional family, lived a life of integrity. Several times in scripture it mentions “the Lord was with him”. His life was anything but smooth sailing, but the Lord was with him.

The Lord was with him when he was sold into slavery.

The Lord was with Him when He worked in Potiphar’s house.

The Lord was with him when he was falsely accused.

The Lord was with him when he was in jail.

The Lord was with him when he interpreted the dreams.

The Lord was with him when he was forgotten by men.

The Lord was with him when he worked for Pharaoh.

He did nothing to deserve trouble. Yet, God was kind to Joseph by being unkind. God was kind to Joseph’s family by saving them from the famine. God was kind to the Egyptians by saving them from starvation. God was kind to Joseph by allowing him to be part of God’s plan to bring deliverance. There is no mention of Joseph doubting God’s goodness. There is no hint of bitterness. After the death of his father Joseph reassures his brothers by telling them. “…you meant evil against me, but God meant it for good in order to bring about this present result, to preserve many people alive.” (Gen. 50:20)

Sometimes trouble comes to my life. I don’t know why most things happen, but…

I do know God is kind.

I do know that God is sovereign.

I do know that sometimes God is up to something I don’t understand.

I do know that God is with me.

That simply needs to be enough.

4 thoughts on “When God is Unkind

  1. Several times I heard the story of Joseph but never got the meaning in the end,yes I saw the trials and that in the end the promise was kept going from the pit to the palace.I never saw it as the way you put it,that he was serving a higher purpose of God’s design.
    What a joy to finally understand God’d plan for you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

