Where I’m From

I’m from Prairie and Wheat Fields…From garden and  sticky black dirt that gobbled up boots and clung to bare feet.

I’m from paper dolls and dress-up clothes…From bikes and gravel roads and skinned knees.

I’m from Aunt Signe and Grandma Edinger…From duty and laughter and music and love.

I’m from extraordinary parents that I appreciated too late…From older sisters that are my best friends and from yet other “sisters” who continue to shape and change me.

I’m from May Day baskets and valentine candy…From fireworks and birthdays.

I’m from Christmas Nut Roll, Berlinerkranser and Chicken Strudel; garden vegetables and fruit.

I’m from bitter cold and stinking hot…from springtime rafts and wintertime caves – jumping from a barn into drifts of perfect snow.  Snowstorms that lasted 2 days instead of 2 hours.

I’m from “Just as I Am” to “Jesus Loves Me”…From flannel graph and memory verses.

I’m from my sin to God’s grace…

I’m from “Nobody Knows the Trouble I’ve Seen” to  “In the Hollow of His Hand”… from unbearable grief and fear to unexplained joy in the midst.

From this and more God has woven me.  To make me just so… for His purpose and plan.

“I will give thanks to You, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made; Wonderful are Your works, And my soul knows it very well.”  Psalm 139:14

Where are you from?  Write it down.  Consider all that has gone in to making you who you are.

2 thoughts on “Where I’m From

    • It is almost a lost tradition. This year my granddaughter and I made and left them on people’s doorsteps. The people my age (50+) knew what they were. The people her age (4-6) had no clue.

      Like

Leave a Reply

